Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign

Harbor seal in its home: the marine environment.

As a terrestrial being, the marine environment is something that is inherently foreign to me. The ocean has always intrigued me. There have been countless times when I have found myself in this alien environment and it’s the mystery that I love.

It might seem like a stretch but this photo says foreign to me. As we paddled our canoe toward the exposed rocks in Hyacinth Bay, British Columbia, harbor seals abandoned their dry rocky perches to slip into the cool dark water. I love the seal’s face because this is the glare he gave me (the intruder) before he splashed into the watery depths below to safety.

Back into a place foreign to me, but not so foreign for a seal.

2 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign

Leave a Reply

